Institutionalized Essence

– These walls seem sticky. Grotesquely pouring out every glorious sin, thought, and emotion carved within every cemented crevice. As I lightly slide my calloused fingertips over this some what pasty formation, sorrow begins to bleed from this solid cold foundation. Babysitting such horrid memories from these who, nameless faces too scarred to even be remembered. When that man raised his hand with intentions of hurting his wife, brutally raping his two twin daughters one by one, stripping away every thought of freedom and innocence they once talked so proudly of and cherished. These walls have seen it all. As I walk the hollow grounds of this seemingly mundane structure I can’t help but ask myself, “If these walls could talk, what would they tell me”? Would they sing songs of tribute. Describing to me the events of how these very halls that I stand in housed some of the brightest minds. Or would they illustrate images of disgust, informing my sheltered mind that the pale, cold, gray marble I so unknowingly stand on, only covers the hidden scars that happen to be deep rooted into this once overgrown slave plantation. Flashbacks of horrifying images seep their way into my consciousness spilling gruesome details of what has come to pass, singing loudly to me like an old school lullaby. I cringe with fear as my mind cradles these thoughts of post apocalyptic songs of redemption. You see I know you were always a sucker for a happy ending but I’m afraid I do not know where this story ends and what may come of it. Dizzily reciting the Lords Prayer as tears fall down my dust covered cheeks hitting hollow pavement causing the concrete to move and shift underneath my feet, why am I here? Mind full of confusion I scream battle cries out to the heavens for someone to just take this pain away, take me away from this place I plead, but still I remain. Being punished for something unknowingly done, I have no recollections of these so called memories I am being forced to deal with. Tally marks scratched into these paint chipped walls continue to show me how long I have been imprisoned in this place. Sighing and banging my head against this structure I just want the luxury of not knowing this place anymore. But promptly I am once reminded that freedom is only in the mind, so with the strength to no longer fight, as my will and pride have been stripped from me, I lay in surrender in this straight jacket, hoping that soon you will come and rescue me.

2 thoughts on “Institutionalized Essence

  1. Your talent just amazes me. I love reading all your work. I was a little late today. I just posted one too. I am so glad to know that you’re mind is open and you allow yourself the freedoms to think rather than being conformed. Very proud of you. ❤

Leave a comment